East Hampshire Politics

East Hampshire Politics


East Hampshire District Council is unique in that its executive arrangement crosses party lines. Politically the council has been controlled by both the Conservative party and the Liberal Democrat party in turn. The Conservatives controlled the council from its creation in 1973 to 1976, then from 1979 to 1991 for 15 years and again for 9 years between 2003 and 2012. The East Hampshire District Council election, 2010 was held on 6 May 2010. A total of 42 councillors were elected from 22 wards.

The Conservative Party strengthened its control of the council adding two seats to take their total to 26 seats, Hampshire List (hampshire-list.co.uk). The Liberal Democrats lost a seat and had ten members elected. East Hampshire District Council was formed by the Local Government Act 1972. It replaced Basingstoke Rural District Council and Winchester Rural District Council along with parts of the civil parishes of Alton and Bishopstoke and Hartley Wintney, all from Hampshire. East Hampshire District is divided into 20 wards, electing a total of 43 councilors to the district council.

For the purpose of local elections the district is divided into two county electoral divisions: Yateley West (16 councillors) and Yateley East & Oakwood (27). If you're a fan of a good pamper, then why not indulge your senses with a little relaxation in the New Forest? Our spa hotels and day spas are the perfect place to relax after a long day exploring Hampshire's National Park. The flu-like symptoms are caused by the Coronavirus (COVID), initially following respiratory passages infection, resulting in flu-type illness.